Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

focus during undergrad

Hey everyone,

Sort of an off-topic topic re. law school admissions, but if anyone has any useful advice for me who has been through the cycle or just has a lot of knowledge from others re. the admissions process, I would highly appreciate it.

So, I am currently a Junior in undergrad (so about a year from now I will be applying to law schools). I have a strong gpa so far and pretty good extra curricular activities on my resume. Recently, I have been introduced to a possible legal internship which would occupy me for the entire rest of the school year.

My main question is: Is it worth it to take it, or am I better off just sticking to my rigorous LSAT prep and keeping me GPA up? I know the LSAT is the determining factor, but would it largely benefit me to have a legal internship and the contact on my application? I'm really torn on what to do, and don't want to take away my focus from the LSAT (I am in the PT faze), but I also don't want to pass on something that may very well help me get into a good school.

Thank you for anyone who takes the time to read this and gives me advice.

Comments

• cooljon525-1-1cooljon525-1-1 Alum Member
    edited September 2019 917 karma

As someone who is still in undergrad, I recently quit my job as an accounting TA to spend more time on LSAT. I believe that LSAT and GPA are the most important things to focus on. There's a reason why people refer to law school as a "numbers game". Extracurriculars are very important also, but I would allocate my time to the things that matter most.

As far as your situation goes, I think you know yourself best. If you think you can handle LSAT prep, with school, and the internship then go for it.

• ilovethelsatilovethelsat Member
    348 karma