Med school? Second thoughts on law school/BigLaw

GoBells15GoBells15 Alum Member
edited September 2019 in General 22 karma

I recently graduated from a somewhat competitive university (top 70 US News ranking, whatever that’s worth) and landed a case assistant/junior paralegal job at a Global 50 BigLaw firm. 3 months in, I can already see why the attrition rates for associates are continuing to rise. The work is pretty soul-crushing, and associates can’t bill for a lot of the work they used to do (clients are refusing to pay for doc review, research, etc.). I could go on, but in short, BigLaw doesn’t seem worth the time and financial commitment of law school. As someone who took all the med school pre reqs, would my time be better spent in medicine? Just for reference, I graduated with a 3.98 GPA in chemistry (top of class) and am PTing at an average of 172, so I think t14 would be fairy attainable.

Comments

• ExcludedMiddleExcludedMiddle Alum Member
    edited September 2019 737 karma

I also took most of the pre-reqs and did well enough in them, as you clearly also did with that GPA. I decided against medicine after shadowing some doctors. I think I made the right decision for me personally, but I'm not sure you can ever really "know." Feel free to PM me to discuss this. For what it's worth, though, I think either one is going to be stressful, and that if someone's going to pursue medicine, they really, really need to have a passion for it. While you're currently - this could change possibly with a single-payer healthcare system - guaranteed (provided you make it through med school, residency, etc.) a six-figure income, that comes with debt and long hours usually. That's not to mention the amount of delayed gratification relative to law. But any career that (sometimes) pays a lot is going to come with its ups and downs for the most part. CEOs work a ton, have a lot of responsibilities, etc. You have to find the best fit for you.