Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Studying techniques for reading comprehension

So I started studying for the LSAT back in June of this year, and have been making progress in everything but Reading Comprehension. I usually score -11 or -12 on it pretty consistently in my PTs. What are some studying techniques that helped you guys out with bringing up your Reading Comprehension score?

Comments

• GoingtolawschoolGoingtolawschool Alum Member
    184 karma

^^ same situation

• lexxx745lexxx745 Alum Member Sage
    3190 karma

To be honest, just practice. JY's tips for RC from the CC really do help. However, it can only take you so far. You need to just keep doing more passages. I went from -8/9 to -5/7 consistently. Some passages I just do really well on. Honestly, just focus, try to enjoy what you are reading, and practice to be able to read faster.

• RealLaw612RealLaw612 Member
    1094 karma

My tips for RC:

First, I ask myself “why” while I read each paragraph. Why is this author saying this? What’s the point?
    Next, after reading each paragraph make a quick mental summary of what it is saying. Think big picture and function instead of details. For example: para 1. “Background of artist”
    para 2. “Support for why she is unique”
    para 3. “Critics’ opinion opposing viewpoint of para 2”
    para 4. “Rebuttal of criticism and author opinion”
    While reading, make mental notes of the structural elements: who’s saying what, overall tone of the passage, etc... the big idea is to understand the structural and reasoning elements of the passage while retaining enough to know where to look to find information for those pesky specific questions. RC is one if the hardest to gain points with in my experience but I was able to go from -10 to -4 average by focusing on the above.