Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mom diagnosed with Cancer/ admission

z.shilaz.shila Member
edited October 2019 in General 111 karma

So the last 10 days of my life has been a nightmare. My mom was diagnosed with cancer and I spent the last 6 days in the hospital 24/7. My parents don’t speak English so they rely on me for all communications.

I was planning on taking the LSAT on October. But each day, there’s a new task I need to take care of/ besides getting less than 4 hrs of sleep per night.

I’m super drained but at the same time stressed because I graduated June 2018 and am planning to apply this year. I feel like if I postpone for another year, life will happen and I’m fearful of losing motivation/ not getting there.
My score isn’t one I’m proud of. The latest exam I had around a 158. But with everything going on in my life right now, I have been unable to concentrate or focus. I doubt I could push for a higher one til October.

So, my question is: do you guys think I should apply and hope for the best? Hope that an LSAT score addendum would allow for me to explain my current situation or is it best to delay another year?

I pretty much have everything else such as PS, DS, why statements, transcript, resume ready.

As a side note, I had a full time job during the past year + a part-time job + taking care of my parents here and there.
4 months ago I quit my full time to have more time to study and that’s when I was actually able to improve.

What are the drawbacks/ benefits of each scenario?

Anything you guys think or have experienced with would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• lexxx745lexxx745 Alum Member Sage
    3190 karma

Do you have a record on score of 158? Or is that your last PT? Also, what is your goal score. To be frank, you wouldnt be able to improve your score much in time for the test, if at all. If anything you should hope to be scoring around what you PT.