Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice for a Young Grasshopper

MustBeFalseMustBeFalse Member
in General 100 karma

Hi all,

I am just starting out on my LSAT journey (I bought Ultimate+ five minutes ago). I will be applying to law school in Fall 2020 with the goal of taking the LSAT between June - September 2020.

For those of you who are farther along in your journey, what advice would you give a young grasshopper like me, or if you could do it all over again? I know the basics - don't waste valuable, recent PTs, the LSAT is harder than you think, the worst thing is not knowing what you don't know...

Open to any and all advice, specifically how I should pace the CC, balancing working full-time and studying, and long term (8+ months) study plans.

Comments

• EagerestBeaverEagerestBeaver Alum Member
    703 karma

I don't know where you started at diagnostic-wise, but don't feel like an idiot if it is not coming along. I did not get above 160 on a preptest until four to five months of studying, and I am supposedly a "good student" who does "well in academia". That is not to toot my horn but to express that no matter where you are at or what you perceive yourself to be, this shit is hard and tangible signs of progress are erratic.

Additionally, quality over quantity. If you are studying over six hours a day, in my opinion, you are not getting the mental quality of those study hours. Many (tutors who are much more knowledgable than I) would even say that five should be a maximum for hours in a day. You are playing the long game, let the knowledge sink and focus on more attuned studying than quantity of studying.