My 21+ Increase Story: Tips + Gratitude

NicolekhNicolekh Alum Member
edited October 2019 in General 335 karma

The LSAT was the last hurdle for me in order to get into law school, and because of that, it was the exam I dreaded. I was petrified of getting a bad score and having all of my hard work go down the drain after working hard after four years at university. Because I amped up the LSAT so much, I had extreme anxiety over it, and made it seem like the most important thing in my life.
So after graduating and receiving a Fulbright, I started studying around May of 2018 towards the end of my Fulbright. I came home in June and was rushing and thought it would be a good idea to take the sept 2018 LSAT. Despite having a concussion and having personal things happening in my life that were impacting my mental and physical health, I took it, thought it did okay, and kept the score. Then, my worst nightmare had come true- I had done extremely poorly on the exam, at least 10 points below what I was PTing. After that, I entered a deep depression and even questioned going to law school. Then I began to talk to people on 7sage, who encouraged me to keep going. I knew that first score didn't define my abilities, and that I could do better if I studied the right way. About a year later, I took the September 2019 exam and received a 169 - 21 points up from my diagnostic which was a 148. I went through so many tutors and so many resources that I feel my experience would be helpful with someone who is still in the process of studying, so I want to share some things I learned here:

1- Dont EVER listen to people who doubt you. I drove my family crazy being so obsessed over this exam, and if it was up to my family they would have let me settle for a mediocre score. I also broke up with my significant other because he thought I 'studied too much' and I am not sorry about it. You need people who believe in you.