My LSAT journey is over |144 --->166 Rough road(inspiration)/Top 3 Tips

edited July 2022 in General 1025 karma

10/26/2021 Update: I am currently a 2L at USC Gould. Feel free to DM me questions about the LSAT, the application process or law school. My journey was far from ideal, but I hope I can provide some insight.

Overview of my journey:
I'm writing this for a bit of inspiration for anyone that is in need of it because my journey was not easy, but it sure paid off because I stuck to it.

I studied on/off for nearly two years total. My diagnostic was a 144 back in Jan 2017. After finishing the 7Sage CC, I was sitting at a 152 in May of 2017. I made sure to really take my time with the lessons and I hope everyone does the same as well--it was time well spent and I would definitely do it this way again.

Post CC was really where the grind began. I was dead set on a 170 score.

My first take: 161 in December 2017.

Second take: 161 in December 2018.
After studying for 10 months 5.5 days a week for 8 hours a day, I received the SAME EXACT SCORE.
I was actually depressed after this test. I was emotionally numb for about a month, it was rough. The following weeks post-results felt like a nightmare I would eventually wake up from. In particular, LSAT was my life at this point, and to have zero improvement on the only thing I was focused on was one of the toughest feelings out there. Most of all, I had nobody to blame but myself.

I took a two month break and got back to hitting the test hard again for 4 months.

Third take: 166 in June 2019.
Same study plan, but I used the BEST tutor, @"Cant Get Right." I'm not sure how the rules are for plugging people, but he was just phenomenal with picking out my weaknesses and helping me combat them in an understandable way. I cannot say enough great things about Josh. Here is his website. https://www.nevermorelsat.com/

Top 3 tips: