Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

HELP! My score is dropping!

katelynkatelyn Alum Member
in General 5 karma

I've been studying for the LSAT since July 2019. After taking a weekend long crash course, my timed score was 158. In the subsequent months, I've gone through the core curriculum, worked with a private tutor, and used the Khan Academy practice resources. My last practice tests have been 157, 156, 154, and now 150. This is going the opposite direction that I want to! I am scheduled to write the January exam, and my goal is to score 162-164. Any advice to stop this downward spiral?

Comments

• RomeyRomeRomeyRome Core Member
    12 karma

Hello Katelyn, perhaps you need a few days or perhaps a week or two off from studying or taking practice tests. I found my biggest jumps in improvement came from taking time off because it is very draining and you could be burnt out and not even realize it. Also, try to enjoy the LSAT for what it is, the more positive energy put in the better! By the way that's a great starting score and you have done it before which means you can do it again!

• RealLaw612RealLaw612 Member
    1094 karma

@katelyn People advance at their own pace with this test; what you're going through may or may not be cause to shake up your study habits. That said, you really haven't given enough detail to offer anything but general advice yet. It would be useful to know, for example, what the patterns are in your Prep Test scores. In order to improve, you need to keep a record of the kinds of questions / passages/ games you're having trouble with and then make it your life's mission to become an expert on the underlying logic behind those issues.