Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I quit my job?

student of thoughtstudent of thought Alum Member
in Off-topic 101 karma

I have a dilemma and am very torn on what I should do. As a background, I graduated with my bachelors in Spring of 2016 and have been working as a territory manager for a large company ever since. I make good money now, but know this is not a job or career I want to continue in. I have taken the LSAT twice now and increased my second score 6 points from the first and still do not feel as though I have plateaued or fully utilized the best methods in my past studies. Working full time makes it difficult to get all I want out of studying and creates a rigorous schedule. I am working full time and trying to get as much studying in as I can, but often feel burnt out.

My current schedule goes something like this:
Mon-Fri Work: 8am-430pm, Workout: 430 - 530pm, Study: 6pm - 9/10pm, Sleep: 10/11pm - 6am.
Sat/Sun Study: 4-5 hours.

I am basically trying to get as much studying in as I can while working full time but this schedule is monotonous and I often feel like a zombie with no free time or recalibration/relaxation time.

I am wondering if I should quit my job and focus on studying full time to get the most out of my potential LSAT score? I think this would be beneficial but am hesitant about leaving my company. With that being said, what is the trade off for a higher LSAT score and me leaving my job? Would admissions committees look down on my quitting my sales job and being unemployed to study full time? Is having a solid career on your resume for law school applications of any benefit? Does working and studying full time come off as more impactful, or a higher LSAT score while being unemployed? These are the reservations and questions that I have been battling, money is not the issue for me, I have a decent savings I could live off until I started law school.