Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Tips for a new 7Sager

in General 246 karma

Hi Everyone! Just wanted to get some advice as I am new to 7Sage. As my name implies I definitely want to score in the 99thpercentile. I have already been doing pretty well overall. In LR for example I am able to always narrow it down to two answer choices, but struggle to pick the right one. LG is mostly working out the timing issues, as on blind review I came almost always go minus 0 to minus 1, sometimes minus 2. In addition, I have struggled with timing on every section. As I just finished up the the first lessons before moving into main point question types, I found myself doing the questions without consciously looking for all of the referential phrases, comparative statements, context of the argument etc etc. After realizing I needed to be applying what I am learning to improve, I found once I did this I was obviously very slow. I wanted to gain two to three things from this post. First, what was everyone else's experience, especially those who had taken another prep course, like after they had gone through the initial lessons and then started applying the first basic steps. Did you just start the main point questions and go super slow until all of these skills became second nature? Even though I have gotten all of the questions right, I dont want to not apply what I am learning, because I 'll just be wasting my time if I keep doing what I did in the past. Second, what have you guys done to overcome timing issues? And lastly, after having listened to the 7sage podcast, I noticed a common thread of people was to get heavily involved in teaching and in being involved in the forums. My question is: what is the best way to do that? Is it simply to just go through the different questions posed here and writing explanations? Just curious to see what you guys are finding is working best to help improve your score and