Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

My raw score only improved by 5 Points...

dlstudy1dlstudy1 Alum Member
edited March 2020 in General 76 karma

When I took my diagnostic exam I scored a 151. With the following breakdown:
+11 LG
+17 LR
+17 LR
+14 RC
Raw Score: +59

I studied for two months and I recently scored a 154. With the following breakdown:
+15 LG (+19 BR)
+19 RC (+20 BR)
+12 LR (+13 BR) (I usually get 17-20 right when I practice timed LR and 22-23 BR)
+18 LR (+18 BR)
Raw Score +64
My BR Was +70

I'm frustrated because I only improved by 5 points. Am I being unreasonable for expecting a bigger jump? My goal is to be scoring in the 160s by June, thoughts?

I haven't looked closely at the analytics yet because my brain is fried (just finished the exam). The only thing I want to add is that I cannot believe I got +12 on the first LR section. I haven't gotten below 20 in about a month so I'm shocked by this. I'm thinking it was nerves since it was my first section. I'm not sure. I would appreciate thoughts on the +5.

Thanks!

Comments

• noonawoonnoonawoon Alum Member
    3481 karma

I think you could absolutely improve 5 points just by going hard on LG and getting it to down to -0-2.

Your LR BR scores show that you could improve a lot by focusing on what you don't understand.

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27822 karma

+5 is really good for your first post CC PT.

What concerns me is that you’re skipping BR. Don’t skip BR.

• dlstudy1dlstudy1 Alum Member
    76 karma

@"Cant Get Right" I didn’t do BR the day of the diagnostic because I didn’t know what it was. I took it before I did the curriculum.

I consistently BR everything when I’m practicing now. My BR LR is usually +22-23 and my raw LR is usually +17-20