Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT and Law: The First Amendment

Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
in General 27809 karma

So I’m studying some Constitutional Law and learning that WOW does the First Amendment not say what I thought it said (and what you almost certainly think it says).

Just going to leave this here. Use the careful reading skills you’ve learned studying for the LSAT and see if you can spot what I’m talking about.

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

Comments

• zdanlaw1991zdanlaw1991 Member
    edited March 2020 80 karma

Hey there @"Cant Get Right" ,
    In regards to this amendment, are you referring to the idea that it is 'Congress' who can not make laws prohibiting these freedoms, but says nothing about our leaders creating executive orders.

• jmarmaduke96jmarmaduke96 Member Sage
    2891 karma

I had a similar thought, are you getting at the distinction between Congress being prohibited from taking certain actions and prohibiting the state governments from taking those same actions?

• Law and YodaLaw and Yoda Alum Member
    4300 karma

This podcast from RadioLab(NPR More Perfect) discusses the 1st amendment in such an interesting way. It is definitely worth a listen!
    https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/radiolabmoreperfect/episodes/most-perfect-album-episode-one-first-second-third-amendments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    edited March 2020 27809 karma

@zdanlaw1991 said:
    Hey there @"Cant Get Right" ,