Typical struggling student in need of advice - retaking past PTs

axbSunDevaxbSunDev Member
in General 256 karma

What I love about 7sage is how you can just post a discussion in need of help and advice, so I deeply thank you 7sage community for all your thoughtfulness.

First, I plan on taking the LSAT in either August or November this year 2020. Some background - I have been studying since March of 2019 and what I mean by studying is picking at Khan Academy and Powerscore here and there. However, real studying is when I got onto 7sage in October of 2019.

I finished CC and now i'm in the practice test phase and I have taken 3 timed PTs (June 2007,PT 2 and PT 3 from the 90s) and scored a 143 on all (obviously not the gifted kind like many). The problem is i'm just stuck at 143 raw score. Blind review has been around 158-161. GPA is a 4.0 close to a 4.1 since I came from a +/- gpa school. Goal score is 160. I am not the fastest reader and I am pretty bad at puzzles, so Reading Comp and Logic Games have been killing me. I am a full-time worker, 5 days a week, 40 hours a week.

Can a student jump from 143-160 in 5 months? Knowledge and performance seems to be the splitting problem as a have a fine BR but my performance raw score is so bad and wont budge. I just cannot read RC fast enough and I can't help but get the wrong answer when Im stuck on the 2 last answers in process of elimination.

Does retaking past PTs under timed conditions help with performance?

Again, thank you 7sage!

Comments

• edited March 2020 1058 karma