I took flex while my wife had contractions - my flex story and overcoming stress

MarkmarkMarkmark Alum Member
in General 976 karma

Our baby's due date was Monday the 18th, my test was scheduled for Wednesday the 20th. Now that the April test was cancelled I didn't know if I'd have to wait another half-year to take the test once I'd regained enough sleep to be functional after caring for our newborn girl. On top of this a lot more responsibility has fallen on me while my wife has been getting much needed 3rd trimester rest: this means taking care of our toddler, cooking and doing dishes, house chores, finances and working from home. Lastly, as an Army veteran I suffer from constant back pain and frequent neck spasms -- it's certainly not the worst situation, but it's not the best either. Yet through it all I remained uncharacteristically calm and drew positive comments from family members and friends on how I handled the situation! I owe how I handled the stress to 2 methods and hopefully this can help others stay calm and focused too.

The 2 methods that helped handle all the stress were meditation and having a written step by step strategy for not just the LSAT but also for when our baby comes. I bought the book "The mindful athlete" which talks about how to practice mindfulness. Learning how to meditate and meditating for 10 minutes twice a day helped me to chill out after a long day of work and helped me become calm when I felt stressed out. Without meditation I swear I would have snapped at my family and loved ones a TON, but taking a time out to regain composure proved an invaluable resource I'll be practicing probably for the rest of my life.