Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Subject to academic disqualification

I graduated in 2013 with a 2.88 GPA, and my winter quarter freshman year, I totally tanked. At the time, I was playing a collegiate sport, and had taken chem/calc. Needless to say, my grades were awful, and I was subject to academic disqualification as a result. I quickly changed my major, and stopped sports at the end of my freshman year (mostly due to injuries, partly due to grades). I was in good academic standing for the remainder of undergrad.

For the most part, my grades slowly got better after that one quarter, but in general, I was not a good student my first two years - I wasn't very mature, and didn't take some classes seriously. To add to that, I also graduated two quarters early, so I wasn't able to take extra classes to boost my GPA.

My official transcript does not show that I was in bad standing that one quarter, but I plan on applying to law school at the same place I did my undergrad, as well as a couple other places. Regardless, is this something that I should/need to discuss in an addendum?

I'm planning on taking the LSAT in August, with a goal of 170. I worry that with anything much lower than that, I will be discarded, due to my GPA.

Comments

• genkiscaan-1genkiscaan-1 Core Member
    5 karma

Hey there,

I'm pretty much in the same boat as you and I truly think it's good to fill out any addendum necessary and explain your situation completely. Low GPA's can be quite discouraging but they say strengthen your application wherever else you can. It's realistic to assume that you probably won't be able to get into some of the top law schools but I think there are many options to choose if you can afford to move out of state. With that being said I wish you the best of luck!

• lexxx745lexxx745 Alum Member Sage
    3190 karma