Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

how to improve speed?

luxetveritasluxetveritas Member
in General 64 karma

hello,
im wondering if the 170+ers out there have any tips on how to improve speed and accuracy for LR and RC. i can comfortably get 170+ untimed, but under timed conditions, i tend to feel rushed and my score dips into the low 160s. i started studying about two and a half months ago and have taken about 5-7 PTs, but no significant improvements in my actual score. would super duper appreciate any tips!
thanks!

Comments

• LSATcantwinLSATcantwin Alum Member Sage
    13286 karma

For me speed came with exposure and practice. I did so much studying, and took so many pt's, that questions all began to look very similar. The "easy" questions took almost no time to answer, which gave me ample time to really sit and digest the "hard" questions. I got so comfortable with the test I didn't even need to look at a clock or watch because I just knew what 35min felt like.

This was one of my greatest strengths on the test, because I got so good at getting the easy stuff out of the way, I actually would finish almost every section early with time to go back and review the extremely hard questions.

This also went for reading comp. I just knew what the test was going to ask about the passage. There were never any surprises. So when I would read the passage, id be hyper aware of facts/sections/information that would likely be relevant for the questions.

Exposure and practice were the two greatest weapons I had to increase my speed.

• jegosi215jegosi215 Member
    97 karma

@LSATcantwin I think that is a great way to ultimately increase speed, but were there any other tips you recognized along the way for getting better/faster at the R.C section? I can only get through two passages comfortably, and I'm approaching my 11th PT next week.

13286 karma

@jegosi215 said: