Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Letters of Recommendation

Rob SlipkovichRob Slipkovich Free Trial Member
edited November 2013 in General 33 karma
I graduated a couple years ago and am having trouble with letters of rec. I briefly held a part time job and then opened a tourism company with a business partner directly after. I also did not have strong relationships with professors while in college due to the sheer volume of students in each class. Any suggestions on where I should be looking for recs? Thanks!

Comments

• jamiewong107jamiewong107 Alum Member
    47 karma
    Rob,

I am struggling with this too. I graduated my program with a pretty strong GPA, but my MBA program was online. Honestly, to say that I am freaking out over having no academic LOR prospects would be an understatement. Have you heard anything regarding whether a lack of academic LOR's is really that hurtful or not?
    Thanks and good luck to you.

Oh and also, as someone in your boat, my recommendations would be:
    1. Ask your business partner for a letter
    2. Are there any companies that you work directly with on a consistent basis? Any legal partners? I would ask a colleague who has an important work relationship with you to write a recommendation as well. If your company is doing particularly well your partner can speak to your strengths/dependability if it is doing well and how you contributed, etc.
  • Rob SlipkovichRob Slipkovich Free Trial Member
    33 karma
    Were there any professors that you corresponded with during your MBA that may provide some insight in a LOR? I think we are under some uncommon circumstances while applying. Especially because we took routes that have disconnected us from the traditional path. Thank you for the good suggestions, I will have to evaluate my best available options.