Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Would it be ok to say that I want to go to law school when applying for a full-time job?

leejenny1004leejenny1004 Free Trial Member
edited August 2020 in Law School Admissions 12 karma

Hi everyone, first of all thank you in advance for taking the time to read this.
I'm a 23-year-old international student; just got my bachelors degree this year. I've always had my mind on going to law school but wasn't so sure about it, but during my current internship it became clear that I really do want to go to law school.
However, the thing is that I think I want to apply for a new internship that could turn into a full-time job (in management consulting) in the hopes of 1) gaining financial independence 2) obtaining industry knowledge and/or practice critical thinking in the real world. I am thinking of having a full-time job (hopefully this job that I'm applying for🙏) for about 1-2 years before I go to law school, but the application process of this new internship requires that I write about my career goals. Do you think it would be ok if I tell them honestly that I'm planning to go to law school?

Comments

• sgreer2015sgreer2015 Member
    73 karma

When I interviewed for what is my current full time job, I did tell them that I wanted to go to law school. I only told them because they asked, though. I told them that I was hoping to go to law school at some point, but I did not provide a specific timeline, and if possible/ if they ask why you may want to explain how going to law school would make you a more valuable employee. Definitely be honest if they ask about future ambitions, but I wouldn't volunteer the information if not asked.

• noonawoonnoonawoon Alum Member
    edited August 2020 3481 karma