Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Panic with timed work, pls help

quinwhitquinwhit Member
in General 40 karma

Hi! I’m having some trouble, if anyone can help me out, I would greatly appreciate it.

So, I’ve been studying for a couple months. I’ve been diligent with solidifying the general theory and question specific approaches. I enjoy learning this material and the ‘problem solving/puzzle’ aspect of LR and AR. I feel comfortable when I drill untimed or do the questions in the explanatory videos before watching them, and I see that my thinking is line with what JY has been teaching us. I also solve questions at a decent pace.

But the second I start to do some timed work, I completely freeze. I get so panicked! I reread stimuli multiple times and the answer choices still seem like they belong to another question. I only answer on ‘gut feelings’ that I can’t even explain during the practice. I’m VERY slow (about 15 questions answered per section), and to top it off I get increasingly panicked with every question. I spend more time partially reading and skipping around questions without making sense of anything.

I don’t have anxiety and I’m a relaxed person, even with school. I’ve tried to cover the timer for the problem sets, but just knowing that the timer is going is enough for me to freeze and significantly underperform.

I’m very frustrated because I know what I’m doing and how to do this test, but there is a barrier with actual performance. Does anyone have any advice or experience with something like this?

Comments

• 375 karma

I have experienced something very similar when doing timed full exams. Would love advice as well.

• jpgreensteinjpgreenstein Member
    136 karma