Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Deciding where to apply... help

Hey there,

Does anyone have advice on strategies or resources for deciding to which schools I should apply? I have looked at the lsat/gpa predictors, and I'm more interested in how you distinguish between schools within the ranges. For context, for undergrad I knew what school I liked, applied ED, and went. So I am new to school researching and gauging likelihood of acceptance.

Any advice would be appreciated! TIA!

Comments

• studyingandrestudyingstudyingandrestudying Core Member
    5254 karma

What things are the most important to you for your law school experience?

• Law and YodaLaw and Yoda Alum Member
    edited September 2020 4306 karma

Compare your LSAT and GPA to develop three lists of potential schools:
    Dream schools that are a "stretch"
    Core schools where your application will be competitive
    Safety schools where you will more than likely be admitted

What to consider (IMHO)
    I Location (Where do you see yourself practicing, where would you enjoy studying, etc)
    II $, $$, $$$ (How much debt [if any] are you comfortable graduating with)
    III Diversity of student body (More perspectives=More knowledge)
    IV Academic programs (clinical opportunities, joint degree offerings, etc)
    V Career services and placement rates (What is the bar passage rate, what does life after look like)

Hope this helps :smiley:

• karko2525karko2525 Member
    620 karma

Also consider where you want to practice in the future! That's a huge factor for me and it cut down my options quite a bit.

• meganday2121meganday2121 Member
    74 karma