Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Lets talk scholarships

How tough is it to get a full ride?

I graduated in 2019 with a 3.9 GPA and just got a 162 on my first timed practice test, have been studying for a couple weeks but haven't gotten to the reading comprehension or logic games section of the core curriculum yet. I got a -10 on the LG section and I know that is typically the easiest area to improve so I think I should be able to pick up some easy points there. My target is a 170+

I am currently working full time and I find it pretty tough to go from a solid income to having to take out loans to go to law school, but if I got a full ride I would definitely consider it.

Does anyone have any guesses as to what type of scholarships these numbers could land? The soonest I can take the LSAT would be January. I am assuming it would be pretty tough to get scholarships that late in the cycle? I am willing to wait until the Fall 2022 cycle if that means a higher likelihood of a full ride to a decent school.

Thank you in advance for the advice.

Comments

• WouldRatherBeEatingWouldRatherBeEating Alum Member
    edited October 2020 456 karma

I would probably wait until next cycle to greatly improve your chances. I'm in a similar situation of needing a full ride, except with a slightly lower GPA. It depends on where you're willing to go and how you ultimately do on the LSAT. How good of a school is good enough? For example, if you get in the mid to high 160s, you should be automatically eligible for the dean's scholarship at University of Illinois which which is #31. Dean's scholarship is full ride, plus I believe it covers all your 1L books and fees.