Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Applying in 2020 or 2021 cycle?

x1amp9898x1amp9898 Member
edited October 2020 in General 203 karma

Hello, I wanted to ask for advice about applying in the 2020 or 2021 cycle. I graduated college with a chemistry degree (interested in patent law) and a 3.77 GPA, and had originally planned to take a gap year before law school. However, I am not great at standardized tests, and will be lucky to hit a 155 on the November test. I know that applications for this year are up significantly due to COVID, and that there were a lot of deferrals from last year as well. Should I still apply this cycle, or would it be best for admission/scholarships to apply earlier in the next cycle (which would be my second gap yer)? Thanks so much, and any advice is appreciated.

Comments

• noonawoonnoonawoon Alum Member
    3481 karma

We can't say for sure that apps for the total cycle are up significantly, they just seem to be front-loaded for now in that a lot of people have submitted early. I would defer a year if I were you because 155 is going to make admissions and scholarships difficult. I don't know what your goals are, but a 3.77 is great and a ~155 will bring down your prospects. You can always start working on essays and getting LORs now and prepare them so you can submit early next cycle.

• VerdantZephyrVerdantZephyr Member
    2054 karma

@x1amp9898 said:
    Hello, I wanted to ask for advice about applying in the 2020 or 2021 cycle.

I would mostly agree with @noonawoon but it is very dependent upon your goals. If you do not care about a T50 program you could potentially apply this year and get a scholarship, or at least see what comes up. There are certainly some schools outside the T50 that are very strong in their communities or regions and could still get you a job. If you did not get in with scholarship aid you could still defer.