Breaks / Pomodoro / Combating "Zombie" Brain

brna0714brna0714 Alum Inactive ⭐
edited May 2015 in General 1489 karma
I was just curious about everyone's study techniques. My work schedule has recently changed (I'm currently a teacher and we're out of school here) and I am now able to devote the majority of my day to LSAT prep. Before the change, I was working primarily in the early mornings and in the evenings and didn't necessarily have long enough chunks of time available to become overworked, unfocused, etc. Now that I have 8/9/unlimited hours a day to study, I find that I am eager to get a lot done but definitely start to see diminishing returns toward the end of longer study sessions.

What do you all do to maximize effective study time and minimize "zombie" brain? Anyone a staunch advocate for the Pomodoro Technique? Anything else I should consider?

Thanks!

some text

Comments

• nicole.hopkinsnicole.hopkins Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    7965 karma
    My primary advice is eat bacon from happy pigs. Ideally something from a farmer's market or Applegate at a bare minimum. I find bacon is a major attention booster (3 pieces of pork jowl bacon is my current morning regimine). Add 2 tbsp of raw coconut oil to coffee daily. Drink a lot of water and cut carbs.

The brain is an organ. Food is fuel.
  • brna0714brna0714 Alum Inactive ⭐
    1489 karma
    @nicole.hopkins Bacon for my brain? I will certainly give it a shot. Worst case scenario... bacon. New, highly subjective question- Max number of hours one should study a day? I look forward to feverish debate centered around this topic.
    7965 karma
    I'd say 8 hours in one stretch (with lunch ... like a workday), 10 hours if you take a really substantial break in the middle. Or you could do 5 2-hour segments. I would not advise doing the same thing all day long. I suspect anything more than that is begging for burnout.
  • inactiveinactive Alum Member
    12637 karma
    @brna0714 said: