Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do you know when you're ready to take the LSAT?

em_41992em_41992 Core Member
in General 26 karma

Hi all,

With today being the last day to sign up for April, I'm questioning If I should be signing up. April was my original goal date to take the LSAT. However, I've been studying since July 2020, and my score has been stuck at 157 for the last couple of months. I'm about seven years out of undergrad, and I work full time at a pretty busy, deadline-driven job. I generally study about an hour to an hour and a half each day. I have a 3.2 from undergrad, and I am hoping to get at least a 165 on the LSAT.

Given all this, is it reasonable to think that I could jump from a 157 to a 165 by the April 2021 LSAT date? Now that I've signed up for 7 Sage and am using the Powerscore books, I'm approaching studying a little differently. (Before this, I worked through the LSAT Trainer and old practice tests). I plan to apply for next year's cycle, so I still have time take other tests. But I also don't want to spend another four months studying If it's not necessary since I'm feeling kind of burnt out from juggling everything.

I also want to know how you knew when you were ready to take the test? Were you scoring where you wanted to when you signed up?

Comments

• JY posted the following a few years ago, and it sometimes reappears in the discussion after some of the major test months:

For most of you, you already know what score you'll get. Take your last three recent properly administered LSAT PrepTests (e.g., 72, 73, 74) and average your scores. You'll get plus or minus 3 points of that average.

Now of course this isn't a guarantee, but if you are dead set on scoring a 165 and you aren't scoring +/- 3 of that, then I would consider putting the LSAT off until you've had more time to go through 7sage and PowerScore and improve your scores on the PTs.