Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Feeling Discouraged

in General 296 karma

Hey everyone - I started studying for the LSAT in January and have been putting in 10-20 hours a week. I first began with Mike Kim's LSAT trainer and finished that curriculum by Mid February. I've taken 2 PT's since starting to study, and only saw two points of improvement after about 8 weeks of studying. I then decided to switch to 7 sage in late Feb. I started the curriculum from the beginning and have only been focusing on LR. I just took my first timed section after getting through the majority of the 7sage LR curriculum, and still have THE SAME SCORE as my last full LR section I took in Feb. My Blind review score was a lot better than the timed take of the section, but I'm not sure why the gains I'm making on BR aren't reflecting in my test taking.

I'm getting really discouraged that I can't improve, and that maybe I should give up on this path altogether. Has anyone else experienced this? Is this too early to be getting disappointed? This marks about 12 weeks of studying, and my original hope is to take the test in August.

Comments

• ConstantineConstantine Member
    edited March 2021 1320 karma

I've been there. Few months with the books give me minor improvements. You need to change the method. It's tough to learn from the books. It will help if you learn from LR itself. In my view, It would be best if you took an untimed section and fully prove each argument and answer chose. I did it, it took me like 10 hours, and I got - 0. It super-boost my confidence, and after two months, I got my first -1 on LR timed section. Don't give up!

• WoodsCommaElleWoodsCommaElle Live Member
    398 karma

DON'T GIVE UP, MICHELLE!!! DO. NOT. GIVE. UP!!!

The fact that there's a discrepancy between your BR score and your actual score only shows you how much you can improve!