PT 74.S1.Q17 - How the pigment known as Han Purple

WishingOnAStarWishingOnAStar Alum Member
edited April 2021 in Logical Reasoning 83 karma

Hello, friends! This is my first time posting some analysis on a question. Please feel free to provide feedback or any corrections.

STRENGTHEN

Premise: The same ingredients and processes were used to make Han purple AND a common white glass (during the Han and Qin periods in ancient China).

Conclusion: Han purple was probably discovered by accident while making the white glass.

Initial analysis: The stimulus includes nothing that suggests Han purple was particularly rare, or at least rarer than the white glass. There are a variety of problems with this logic, which has many gaping holes to fill with an answer. Just because two things are made similarly and with the same ingredients does not mean that one must've been discovered while making the other. They could've been discovered simultaneously, independently, etc.

Answer anticipation: Anything that shows that the white glass was made prior to Han purple, restricts geographic location of where both were made, shows that Han purple was rarer, shows that one must've been expert with white glass production to make Han purple, etc.

A: CORRECT. If chemical analysis shows that both Han purple and the white glass were made in a relatively restricted area, this eliminates the possibility that Han purple was discovered independently elsewhere.

B: No. How Han purple and the white glass were used AFTER creation tells us nothing about how Han purple was originally created / discovered.

C: No. We don't know if the technique for making white glass was also widely known. And the number of people who know how to make Han purple doesn't tell us anything about how it was created / discovered originally. Han purple could have been discovered independent of white glass with only a few people knowing how to make it.