Second-career law-school hopefuls: academic recs?

Hi all,

This is a weird question, I'll admit, for a weird subset of people. I'm a second-career law-school hopeful (36 years old). While it's still months away, I was musing with a friend the other day that I'd need to get back in touch with my college professors and ask them for recommendations. She seemed absolutely SHOCKED by this and said I shouldn't bother, because college is too far behind me. I should only get recent professional recommendations.

My impression was that a mix is best, and really I should have at least one college rec, even if I graduated 13 years ago. This may be easier for me then most because I actually had three professors write me letters back then (for a grad program I ended up not doing). Getting recs from them would just involve checking in, saying hi, asking if they want to update it in any way, and having them resend it.

But IS THIS WEIRD? Will law schools be like "what the heck is she doing getting a recommendation from 13 years ago she could have become a serial killer in the meantime"? I would of course supplement with a couple of more recent recommendations from people I've worked with/for.

Any and all insight appreciated. Thanks!
Giulia

Comments

• sarakimmelsarakimmel Member
    1488 karma

Hi Guilia,
    I am 43 and went through the same back-and-forth. After discussions with MANY adcomms, their advice was uniform that you should get your letters from sources who know you best and can attest to your readiness and aptitude for law school. An academic referral from a professor you haven't spoken with in 10+ years will not tell law schools much qualitatively, which is what they are looking. Now, if you have professors with which you have remained in contact over the years, that would be different, but again, the most important thing is that your referrer know you and that that comes across in their letter.