Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Has anyone quit their job to study?

WickedLostWickedLost Member
in General 481 karma

I'm considering quitting my job to focus solely on studying for the August exam and then start applying to new jobs right after. I'm studying 1.5 - 2 hours during the work day but I feel like I still have so much potential left and not much time (been studying since March 2020). The new project I've been assigned is mentally draining and I'm very lucky to have been able to save money over the past few years to be able to afford not working for a few months but I'm worried the stress might make it a counterproductive decision. Has anyone decided to temporarily quit and focus on the exam? If so, did you regret it or was it worth it?

Comments

• emg12345emg12345 Member
    43 karma

I did!! I was working in finance consulting, which means extremely long hours and being expected to be "on" at all times. Late nights and early mornings. I tried to make it work by waking up at 4:00a every morning to study, but I was so burnt out that my studying, health, and work suffered. I decided to quit my job and it was the best decision I made. I quit in April and am taking the June exam. Maybe even the August exam too.

There is nothing holding you back from getting another job after you finish the exams. Even if it is a part time job, I assume you're like me and will be hopefully starting school next fall.

Don't regret not being able to put your everything into this exam. If you have some hardcore focus for a few months, you'll be able to reap benefits (admission, scholarship, opportunities, etc).