June LSAT Jitters - How do you calm down?

zmaanseezmaansee Member

Anybody else just really anxious about this test for some reason? I know that I studied a lot but I really want this test to be awesome and kill it. I've been meditating before I do any LSAt stuff and that does help. Anyone have any other tips for calming down or relaxing when you get nervous or anxious? It's my first time taking it so also no idea what to expect.

how confident are you?
  1. On a scale of 1-5 how confident are you?77 votes
    1. 1 - god help me
      12.99%
    2. 2 - i'm not ready, but i'm here
      10.39%
    3. 3 - it is what it is I guess
      32.47%
    4. 4 - i got this i think
      37.66%
    5. 5 - you can't tell me nothing
        6.49%

Comments

• sandydanadurstsandydanadurst Core Member
    48 karma

my test scores were hitting my target and now they are lower than they've ever been. no idea what's going on.freaking out!!

• 120_or_bust120_or_bust Core Member
    124 karma

@sandydanadurst said:
    my test scores were hitting my target and now they are lower than they've ever been. no idea what's going on.freaking out!!

Despite what you may think, take a break. Even if you don't do any more PTs, the mental break will likely help rather than hurt.

• zmaanseezmaansee Member
    32 karma

@sandydanadurst said:

This was exactly happening to me last week. I was getting 9 points below my average for like 3-4 PT's

What I realized is that I stopped reading the LR and RC critically and stopped doing LG's without fully trying to find all the inferences I could. Basically my test taking strategies were getting lazy and I was relying to heavily on my intuition. So what I did was went back to basics and reviewed breifly each type of question to reinforce the process in my head. Remember every question comes down to

Know the question stem, seeing the conclusion, then the premise, and then figuring out what you need to do for the question.