Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

About a study buddy tool. Is it just I or there is someone who has the same experience

ConstantineConstantine Member
edited July 2021 in Study Groups 1320 karma

I am relatively new to the US, and in my life out of the US never had such an experience. I've been using a study buddy thing on 7sage since the last October. But the fact that one person out of 5-7 doesn't show up bathers me. A typical case looks like this: a person adds me on the tool, offers a PT or sections, sets up a time (via zoom, one-on-one), doesn't show up, and doesn't say a word afterward. Is it a cultural norm?

Is there someone who has the same experience?
  1. Do you have same experience16 votes
    1. Yes
      75.00%
    2. No
      25.00%

Comments

• dawgslaw123dawgslaw123 Alum Member
    138 karma

Don't take it too personally

• hopefullinghopefulling Member
    edited July 2021 905 karma

I always thought it was an age-thing and a lack of maturity sticking to commitments or with interactions with others. I was always surprised by the 'crickets' in Discord groups up until the last few weeks before the test. I guess it's just makes it even harder to find the best fit, not only in score range and knowledge, but also in commitment and willingness to put in the effort.

Good luck! It's horrible when you have the English hurdle on top of it all and you're trying to really master the material, only to have others act as unintentional barriers by not following through.

• Ashley2018-1Ashley2018-1 Live Member
    edited July 2021 2249 karma

I often don't even get to the stage where an appointment is made lol. That's why I no longer partake in mass study groups. And I don't think it's a cultural thing. I think it's just people being people.

• ConstantineConstantine Member
    1320 karma

@hopefulling said: