Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

My journey with the LSAT (146 —> 171)

LogicianLogician Alum Member Sage
edited July 2021 in General 2464 karma

Well it’s taken about 3 weeks for me to finally sit down and type this post. Now that the time has come I’d like to share my experience with the test and what I’ve learned along the way with the hope that it will help others.

My first thought: It’s weird being done the LSAT. I’m sure an abrupt stop to just about anything would garner this sort of feeling, but yeah, it’s a strange feeling.

I started studying for the LSAT around August/September of 2019 and I really did not anticipate it taking me this long to achieve a score I’d be content with. I remember seeing the lesson in the CC where J.Y says you should give yourself at least one year to maximize your LSAT score. This really blew my mind as at the time all I was acquainted with was the typical “3 month fallacy”. In any case, when I made the decision to fully immerse myself in this test, I made it knowing full well that I could invest all this time and still not end up with the score I sought. In other words, sunk costs would be sunk. I bring this up solely because it’s easy to get caught up with all the success stories we see of people studying for long periods of time and getting their dream score. What you don’t see is those who invest their time and then fall short. This is in no way meant to be discouraging but rather to shine a light on a perhaps overlooked reality. Personally, I was okay with that possibility as I knew I’d regret it even more if I didn’t try.

Side note: even if you don’t ultimately land on the exact score you want, odds are you’ll still make solid improvements if you’re putting in the effort and studying correctly.