Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What made the LR section *click* for you?

pugloverpuglover Member

I'm starting to get better at the test overall, and to do see improvement. In fact I'm doing much better than when I started studying for the exam. I was wondering if you guys could post what helped you learn/understand LR and make sense, any tips or advice. I'd love to hear from you guys, so I can apply that for myself in this learning process.

Comments

• zoomzoomzoomzoom Member
    462 karma

LR started to click for me the moment I realized there is basically one skill the section is testing - the ability to think CRITICALLY.

The moment I realized I need to just accept all the terrible BS the stimulus gave me as evidence for it's conclusion and sit and think why the evidence still does not PROVE the conclusion is when everything clicked.

Seriously try this untimed. Literally take any argument and break out the Premises and the Conclusion and just sit there breaking down reason after reason why the Premises don't prove the conclusion. You can do this exercise a million times even in real life. Pay attention to the terrible arguments friends and family make.

When you do this enough times, you come to realize that is essentially all LR is testing. The ability to think and evaluate critically is the key to winning on LR.

• Jahn.SnowJahn.Snow Member
    316 karma

One strategy that got me to -3 is skipping! When you see a stim that you just cant wrap your head around in the moment- immediately skip and come back. I've found that taking that time and then giving it a second look gives me a fresh perspective on it and I either get the question correct or at the very least can make an educated guess.

• ssop_tkdssop_tkd Yearly Member
    22 karma