Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Emailing a Prof for a Rec Letter after a Few Years?

kvitka22kvitka22 Member
edited August 2021 in Law School Admissions 257 karma

It's been a few years since I graduated and I want to reach out to my professors for recommendation letters and I was wondering if anyone has any good email templates for people who have been out of school for a while. I would love to schedule a chat with them mostly because I want to touch base with them, let them know what I've been up to since graduating, and feel like that's done better over a call instead of email. However, I want to come off sensitive of their time and make sure they know I am doing this in hopes of receiving a rec letter. When I go to write the email I feel awkward because I don't even know if they remember me. One already agreed to write me a rec letter a few years ago but I have no idea if he remembers. Any tips would be appreciated!

Comments

• tahurrrrrtahurrrrr Member
    1106 karma

If you're worried about if they remember you or not, just attach a picture or 2 of things you've been up to since graduation (job, travel, volunteer work, etc). Give a brief summary of what you've been up to, then at the end of the email, mention that you're applying to law school, but don't ask for a recommendation letter yet.

When they respond, either they'll outright offer to do it without you asking directly, or they'll be happy to hear from you and when you respond to their response you can ask.

• andrew.rsnandrew.rsn Alum Member
    831 karma