Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How long is an acceptable addendum?

Hey guys, I just wanted to ask if you all had been advised on how long is too long for an addendum?

I am submitting one to explain a low GPA. I think I have decently good reasons and evidence for how I have changed the situation since I was an undergraduate student, but I'm really not sure how much detail to include in my story.

I think I've written a compelling story that is a page and a half long. I could take out a lot of detail and squeeze it back down to one page, but I feel the bare bones version is significantly less interesting and obviously takes away a good deal of context. What are y'alls thoughts on this?

PS, I'm applying at schools in the 60-80 range

Comments

• lizzogonzolizzogonzo Member
    628 karma

Page and a half is definitely too long. Addenda should be like 2 paragraphs max.

• JMPlaw19JMPlaw19 Member
    edited August 2021 144 karma

The point of an addendum isnt to be your personal statement or a story, if you have a compelling reason then incorporate it into your personal statement. An addendum is a brief explanation, the longer you make it the more it sounds like just an excuse and you not owning up to it, or the more that admissions is going to let it linger. Be precise and to the point.

To you its a big deal, but to people that see thousands of applications every year, they have already heard it all and dont need a big explanation.

• andrew.rsnandrew.rsn Alum Member
    edited August 2021 831 karma

" I think I have decently good reasons and evidence for how I have changed the situation since I was an undergraduate student" Does this mean how you've changed since graduating college? This sounds more like something that would be a a part of your personal statement.