Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any one else here struggling with ADHD? Looking for advice.

LuxxTabooLuxxTaboo Core Member
in General 212 karma

I have been studying for 3 months now and have been struggling significantly. Yesterday I was Diagnosed with ADHD and was prescribed Adderall which I am a bit hesitant to take. I am wondering if any one here has bee diagnosed with ADHD and either takes their medication or doesn't, and how it affects them when it comes to studying.

Also, are you going to ask for timing accommodations on the LSAT? Do you know if this affects our chances of getting accepted at a school or even a job in the future? How will this look on our record if we use accommodations?

Comments

• lizzogonzolizzogonzo Member
    628 karma

LSAC is legally not allowed to disclose whether an applicant had testing accommodations. It would be downright discriminatory if law schools were biased against one's application due to mental illnesses/disabilities. I haven't been diagnosed with ADHD myself but I had study mates who had it and they had accommodations. Unfortunately stigma views these things as people trying to get an "unfair advantage" but as someone who had accommodations due to severe anxiety (and took the Feb test w/o accom. and completely blanked out on the LG section - usually my BEST section), that's not true at all. I still had to bust my ass for the August exam. Having 50% extra time really didn't do much except provide me with the tools I needed to perform at my truest potential without being limited by my anxiety.

I probably rambled too much lol but I'm a big advocate for this, so whether you decide you want to get accommodations, I hope you do whatever you need to do your best on this exam. :)

• kdionwilliamskdionwilliams Member
    31 karma

The medicine will definitely help you focus 👌🏾