PT83.S1.Q13 - Songwriters get much of the money they earn

EveryCookCanGovernEveryCookCanGovern Alum Member
edited March 2020 in Logical Reasoning 401 karma

Isn’t there an assumption w/ C? That the songs they were asked to write for movie soundtracks were written for those movie soundtracks? If I’m a movie producer and I ask a hit song writer to write a song for a movie sound track and they say no and write it instead for radio, how does that imply that the song was written for a movie soundtrack? Why is “Such songs” taken to reference “songs written for movie soundtracks” rather than referencing “those songs that movie producers (or whoever asks) asked writers to make for movie sound tracks,” because where the former implies they were written for movies, the latter does not.

They sometimes decline, because although “songs written for movie soundtracks” frequently become hits, their writers receive single up front payments rather than continued revenues from airplay.

Versus

They sometimes decline, because although “songs which movie producers asked hit song writers to write” frequently become hits, their writers receive single up front payments rather than continued revenues from airplay.

The latter example opens up the scenario that a movie producer could of asked a hit song writer to write a song for a movie sound track. The writer could reject the offer and write it instead for radio. In this case the song was never written for a movie soundtrack to begin.

It’s a small and reasonable assumption but it felt strange making in a MBT, I would of expected it to be reasonable in a MSS.

Admin note: edited title; please use the format of "PT#.S#.Q# - [brief description]"
Admin note: https://7sage.com/lsat_explanations/lsat-83-section-1-question-13/

Comments

• EddieMEddieM Alum Member
    edited March 2020 279 karma

I think the key lies in here: