Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is doing a ton of RC passages the best way to improve

Hi everyone,
Since I started studying for RC my scores have gone up a little, but not significantly because I don't put much practice time into them. I've made sure I know what each question is asking, how to figure out the main point and the essentials like that. Is my best bet for improvement through just hammering RC passages, like doing all the old ones? Thank you!
- Matt

Comments

• Guy_FawkesGuy_Fawkes Core Member
    124 karma

I've found that the RC section requires you learn certain skills in order to do well. The below basic skills have been very helpful for me. If I were you, I would do reading passages while keeping two or three of the below in mind.

1. When line cited, try to generate your own answer before going into ACs
    2. When you can’t generate, look for wrong answers
    3. Quickly find and eliminate incorrect answers
    4. Take the time to understand the question! Don’t answer the wrong question
    5. Worry less about speed and more on comprehension.
    6. Keep LR brain active when answer RC questions. By this I mean eliminate obviously incorrect answers like you would in LR.
      7.. Have either very apparent or independent reasons to eliminate the answer choice.
  • 1050 karma

If you haven't checked out the LSAT Lab RC videos, I highly recommend checking them out. They're available for free on Youtube and they totally changed my RC game.

On top of that, I totally agree with @Guy_Fawkes, especially with 5: Worry less about speed and more on comprehension. I improved my score a ton simply by slowing down and making sure that I understood what I was reading.

• -LR Queen--LR Queen- Member
    15 karma