Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I even go to law school ?

STONKSGODOWNSTONKSGODOWN Core Member
in General 28 karma

I have been studying for a while now (5 months) but have only managed to go up about 8-9 points. I did pretty poorly with my first diagnostic at a 142 and now scoring at roughly 151 (on a good day). Sometimes I score in the 148-150 range but I am just tired, stressed and quite honestly sacrificing too much of my mental health on this test. Should I take this as an indicator that law school might not be right for me. With an average score of 150 I wouldn't be getting into any worthwhile schools anyway. I have a 4.0 GPA while being an honors student but this test has just taken so much from me. I truly feel like giving up. Any advice would be really appreciated. Thank you and good luck to all taking the Nov LSAT.

Comments

• gabes900-1gabes900-1 Member
    855 karma

Thanks for sharing. I’m sorry that it has been a tough journey for you so far, but 8-9 points is still a considerable increase for 5 months of studying. Congrats!

If it is affecting your mental health that badly, I would recommend maybe taking a break for a week or maybe more than that until you are comfortable with the test again. Sometimes that is definitely needed if you are burnt out.

Also, I don’t think the LSAT is a good predictor of doing well in law school. There are studies on high LSAT helping students in law school and there are studies showing that high scores aren’t necessary. So, I think you should decide what score you think you are capable of, especially in relation to your preferred school. Try and keep trying with breaks sometimes. If that’s a 160, then keep pushing. If that’s a 170 keep pushing. If that’s a 150 then you’re already there! This is all just my opinion though. I hope it helps

• Musa.muneer98Musa.muneer98 Core Member
    14 karma