Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

improve the reading speed

cofactorcofactor Core Member

I am reviewing the RC section of the core curriculum. I was wondering if anyone could give me some suggestions about how to improve the reading speed. As a non-native English speaker, I had hard time finishing reading the full text of some passages (e.g. PT33 Sec 2) within 3.5 minutes. While I tried to speed up the reading, I had hard time grasping the gist, and thereby decreased the accuracy of the answer choices.

Comments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27809 karma

No!! Don’t speed up your reading speed! If anything it looks to me like you need to slow it down.

I am a native speaker. I have a degree in English Literature. I scored -0 on RC on my official LSAT. I will be completing my JD from Northwestern in a few weeks. Take your pick: I’m as qualified at this as it gets. It takes me 4 minutes, on average, to properly read an LSAT passage.

In reading the passage, your priority must be on understanding the passage. If your comprehension of the reading is compromised, you have absolutely no justification for any expectation to perform well on something purporting to test your comprehension of that reading.

There are obviously limits to how much time you can spend. But 3:30 is comfortably in range. Even if you average out at 4:30, you’re fine. I’ve even had a couple students average out at 5:00 per passage. Not ideal at that point, but we found the outcomes were still stronger by taking the needed time to understand the passage. Without understanding the passage, everything is kinda futile. You have to adjust your time management strategy in the Q/A’s to be increasingly aggressive as your read times go up, but you will always do better being aggressive with a strong read than you will being cautious with a weak read.

• CH888888CH888888 Member
    24 karma