Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How should I go about applying to schools if I plan to take 1-2 gap years?

in General 10 karma
This has been on my mind a lot lately--I've been studying Mandarin on and off for about 4 years, and recently became quite serious about it. It's rather sad to know that once I go to law school I'll essentially be unable to proceed in my language study to any meaningful degree, so my goal is to apply to a few programs and live in China for at least a year (State Department or teaching most likely).

I'm not really sure if it would be wise for me to send out applications this fall and then request a gap year if accepted (from what I've read, only 5-10 requests are granted per year), or if I should simply wait and apply upon my return. If the latter, is there a way for me to somehow save or store recommendation letters from my current professors? I imagine it would be unwise to take advantage of that resource, especially if forgoing it means resorting to non-native English speakers writing them instead.

If anyone has experience with anything remotely related, I would be very glad to hear your thoughts. :)

Comments

• ddakjikingddakjiking Inactive ⭐
    2116 karma
    I'd get in all your transcripts and any LOR's you have submitted now. Enjoy teaching abroad for a year or so. At some point though you will have to start prepping for the LSAT. You can do that while in china or back home. My friend took a gap year in Korea teaching English to kids while also studying for the LSAT. He got a 168 so it's definitely doable.

So yeah, don't apply now.
  • 10 karma
    Cheers, thanks for the reply. When you say I should submit all my transcripts/LORs, do you mean I should send those to law schools despite not yet applying? Apologies if that's an uninformed question, not fully certain how applications work. Can schools store application materials for 1+ years?