Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Stimulus or Question Type First?

WhatslsatWhatslsat Member

hi all! Happy Friday!!

Ellen Cassidy (EC) from Loophole is a strong proponent of the former but some disagree.

I have been studying for about 11 months and during the first few months, I liked reading question types first but decided to try stim-first approach after reading Loophole which I found to be helpful. At 10th month I got a much better handle on LR, scoring -3 to -5 untimed and I'm kind of tempted to switch back to see if it improves my timing.
EC argues that if you read questions first it will distract you when reading the stimulus.

Has anyone experienced anything similar??
Thanks for sharing!

Comments

• mangosmoothiemangosmoothie Member
    31 karma

I have also tried both! A tutor once told me that most top scorers read the stimulus first, idk what credibility that has but I found that regardless I did better when reading stimulus first. At the end of the day you are reading for the gap in the reasoning and evaluating the stimulus the same way regardless of what question type it is.

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27821 karma

I read the question stem first, but I really don't think it's something to advocate very strongly for either way. Some people have different preferences, and I honestly don't buy arguments on either side that claim one is actually any better than the other. There's only reasons for preference.