Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Scoring 10+ points lower in actual tests twice...any advice?

hzyxfjhzyxfj Free Trial Member
edited June 2022 in General 12 karma

Before the January LSAT, I was PT-ing around 168-172, but I only got a 157 in the January LSAT. I thought of the possible reasons like being nervous, screwing up two games, not simulating the test environment, etc. etc. Before the June test, I addressed all these things except for the being nervous part. I was pretty confident before the test cuz I PT-ed 175+ (if I didn't screw up the tough game that may or may not come up). In the June test I felt I screwed up the last circular game, but I expected it not to be that bad cuz it costed only 3 points max. Nevertheless, I only got a 160 this time... only 5 points above my first diagonisis test...

I feel so demoralized and confused now... I don't know what to do...Since I'm an international student, October would be my last shot... I think feeling nervous was a big part in the test cuz I felt my pace of taking the real test was a lot different from that of taking practice tests. I don't know how to deal with it, or is there anything else I ignored that contributed to such a huge difference?

Comments

• georgianablythe16georgianablythe16 Alum Member
    edited July 2022 142 karma

I'm not an expert but I believe mindset does play a huge role on test day. What do you do before you take a test? Are you getting lots of sleep the week of? Are you eating a good breakfast, relaxing, etc.? Or are you spending the morning of in full stress mode, counting down the minutes until testing time?

Also, taking a break from studying and prep was hugely helpful for me. June was my first ever take and I did nothing LSAT related for a full two weeks before the test. I ended up scoring my highest PT score and I'm glad I took the time to recoup and let my brain rest before going in.