Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LoR Question

Hello all. I am intending to apply this upcoming cycle, and I was conflicted on who to ask for my LoR.

For context, I decided to apply to law school after graduating college, and I am now 2 years out of college. I did not intend to pursue further education, so I do not have too many professors I had close relationships with. Furthermore, I studied biostatistics and computer science, which are both very unrelated to law, and I currently work as a software developer. Being a STEM major, I often found myself in huge lectures with little face time with professors.

My question is who would be the best people to ask for LoRs? The relationships I have with my professors translate very little to a good law school candidate. I completed an undergraduate thesis, so I had an advisor I collaborated with, but our work was strictly technical. I have a couple of superiors at work I could ask, but again, the work was mostly technical.

Comments

• Matt SorrMatt Sorr Alum Member
    edited July 2022 2239 karma

I'd ask whichever professor/teacher/instructor that you were the closest to for a letter. Even if you don't end up using it, it can't hurt to have one or two letters on hand from former teachers. From my understanding, law schools typically prefer at least one letter from a former instructor. And remember, the person writing your letter by no means has to be a professor. It could be a former grad student, PhD student, or lab instructor. The title of the person matters far less than the content of the letter.