Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Feeling discouraged

Yesterday I took the real thing and it was rough. I only started studying at the end of July, so I know I need much more practice, but I am just really discouraged because I want to apply for fall 2023 and I am afraid my lsat score won’t be enough to go where I want. I could apply next year, but I don’t want to wait two whole years to attend law school. I am going to retake in November, but that’s still not much time. Not sure if this is the right path for me

Comments

• I would keep studying, see how you're PTing close to the November exam. If you still don't feel ready, don't take it. Ask yourself: If this is the right path for me, will one year make that much of a difference in the scope of my career? It really won't. I'm almost 30 and on the same path. It might, however, give you further time to reflect on why you might be having those doubts. Is it really just because the timing isn't lining up the way you might like and you need to get some anxiety out, or is there something deeper there? If the former, look at the bigger picture and you'll see a year isn't much time at all. AND it could give you a ton of time to fully prep and feel like you did the best you possibly can.

• u______uu______u Alum Member
    edited September 2022 233 karma

What I've heard from others is that if you can afford to, spending more time preparing for the LSAT to achieve a higher score will more than offset the inevitable delay you're going to face. And the more common advice I've heard is to take the test when you're ready instead of setting a deadline for yourself. Of course, the second piece of advice also assumes that you can afford to spend more time studying. But what @MurphyBrown2ElleWoods said above is the most important; everything depends on your goals.

• Alyssa TAlyssa T Alum Member
    9 karma