Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

USMC Officer or Law School

tyler.park99-1-1-1tyler.park99-1-1-1 Core Member
edited September 2022 in Off-topic 7 karma

Hello everyone,

I’d like to start by giving some context. I am 23 years old and graduated from college last year in December. I graduated with a degree in political science with a 3.5 GPA and worked for a law firm and my senator during my undergrad. I am also an officer candidate for the USMC. However, here lies the problem: I have had some issues with the recruiting process, and it is becoming very inconvenient.

I was scheduled to leave this year in May and then September. Although, both times I was kept from leaving because my recruiter made some strategic mistakes regarding a medical matter. So, we are waiting to hear back from an agency that approves and disapproves of candidates. We are expecting their response to either be that I am either approved to leave in January or that they will make more requests for medical exams, which may postpone my leaving to the summer of next year. This has become burdensome in both my own time benchmarks and intermediate employment.

My plan with the USMC was to (1) get professional work experience, (2) fulfill my itch for military service, (3) become financially independent, and (4) use the GI Bill to pay for law school. Though, my perspectives are changing as I become older. I have always wanted to join the armed forces/USMC since I was a child, but I want to practice law long-term. So, as time goes on, I am growing weary about pressing into the USMC.