Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Choosing Schools: Geography

Mike StoneMike Stone Member
in General 111 karma
Thoughts of the day:

Had a phone call last night with a close college friend who is very business minded. We discussed my current standing with LSAT prep. I confidently believe I'm on pace to get into some pretty awesome schools (top 30). My favorites are constantly changing, but these days my eye is on Arizona State University. They have a sport law concentration (I majored in sport management at UMass for undergrad), and their law school is in downtown Phoenix (30min from main campus in Tempe). Everything about their program sounds phenomenal, and right up my alley. With 18 pro teams in Cali and 4 in AZ, I feel like my networking potential is evident.

My "fear the fork" fantasies have been limitless, until the phone call. In summation, my friend made me aware that if I go to law school on the west coast, I will likely struggle to find a job on the east coast where I'm from. (I live in NY now, would ideally love to move to Boston after school, but I would really like to go south for school.)

My questions boil down like this. Does it make sense to go far away to school (AZ, Cali, TX, Georgia, Florida), if I would like to live in Boston? Or should I stop being a snow-pansy and establish myself at BU/BC/Northeastern?
Bottom Line: How easy is it to find a job on the opposite coast of the school you attend???

I know this was wordy, sorry, I'm in borderline panic mode after last night's deflating conversation.

Comments

• nicole.hopkinsnicole.hopkins Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    7965 karma
    @Pacifico , paging pac-daddy ...

Outside of the T14, it's better to go to a school in the region in which you want to settle. That's the rule of thumb.