Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need Help

blakkdollblakkdoll Free Trial Member
edited April 2014 in Reading Comprehension 20 karma
Is there anyone that can help me with Reading Comprehension? I'm reading the passages and I'm having a hard time understanding it and answering the questions. I can't even get the questions right without it timed. Am I the only one experiencing this?

Comments

• beemomo8beemomo8 Alum Member
    82 karma
    I was in a similar boat as you- getting questions wrong even without being timed. But things have improved so much after I began reading excessively. I was out of school for a bit and I majored in something that did not require much readings. After acknowledging my weak point, I began to read NYT (the opinion section), The New Yorker, Economist and Scientific America EVERYDAY.

Read while identifying all the referential pronouns and embedded clause and after each paragraph, in your head, summarize the topic. Placing a pen on a page to guide your eyes to read the letters will help greatly-reading out loud while reading is not very helpful with speed later on.

Always summarize the whole article after reading- the author's main point and the supports she is giving you.

Also, re-do the RC questions, especially really challenging ones. RE-doing them will help you understand the way the LSAT writers want you to answer their questions. I have been redoing RC questions under timed-condition and now I get 1 or 2 wrong per section. It is a gradual process, read as much as you can and try not to rush your improvement.

• Drini925Drini925 Member
    edited April 2014 67 karma