Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

December 2015, take it or postpone it?

1LBound1LBound Alum Member
in General 149 karma
Hi everyone. I'm writing to you all to get some advice and guidance about my dilemma (and hopefully ease my nerves). So here's my situation. I work full-time and been out of school since 2007, I started studying back in June with Powerscore's program (I know, I know, please don't judge) and originally planned to take October LSAT. I had surgery at the end of July and was out of the studying game for several weeks, which set me back a lot. My boyfriend and I talked, weighed my pros and cons, and we both decided it was best to push my test back to December to get me more time to study. We found 7Sage and I began their starter package in September. My scores haven't been great, mid-140s PT and low160s BR, which is obviously no where near my target score (165+). My strengths are LG and RC, but I'm absolutely horrible at LR, during timed and BR. After each BR, I feel I know the information, understand it, but when I take another PT, I choke. I've never been a good standardized test taker, so I knew going into this I had a big challenge to overcome. I know progress takes a while, but here we are 3 weeks to December's test and my PTs are bad. My boyfriend thinks I should take December's test as planned, see what score I get and use it as a trial run so I'm prepared when I take it in June 2016. My concerns with his suggestion is I waste my first test, in case I need to retake it in October 2016 (after June 2016 test) and secondly, I'll have to explain to all my schools why I scored so badly the first go around, if I score well on the June 2016 test. So here's my question, should I cancel my December test or not? At this point I know I need more time to study and go over the material again, luckily I haven't exhausted all my PT, 50-75 left. I definitely underestimated how much time I