Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

From 170 to 180

Edmond.DantesEdmond.Dantes Alum Member
in General 155 karma
For anyone who is trying to get to where I am, I'm happy to provide any insights. For anyone far beyond where I am, I'm reaching out for help.

I've been tackling the LSAT for a few months now and am somewhat stuck. I started the test doing very badly: -6 on LR, -5 on RC, and missing one game on LG. Now, I'm at -2 or -4 on LR, -3 on RC, and -1 on LG (usually due to stupid reading mistakes). My question is: how to move from a ~170 to a 180 score?

In my case, I know I haven't maxed out yet, since I can occasionally score a 180 during BR. But I always seem to miss a couple during first attempts no matter what. Right now, I'm not confident at all about scoring a 175+ on test day (which is my goal, given my unfortunately terrible college GPA).

I welcome anyone with any insights about how you raised your scores (even by a bit), and happy to provide insights from my end if anyone would like them. Thanks!

Comments

• quinnxzhangquinnxzhang Member
    edited April 2016 611 karma
    Depending on how you're practicing, you might not have to change anything. I mean, you'll still need to PT and drill and BR and all that stuff.

I think changing your mentality can help. When I was in the low-170s range, my mentality was something like "yeah, -1 or -2 in a section would be acceptable," but when I was in the 180 range, my mentality going into each section was "I'm definitely going to get -0 on this section." That is to say, you should be PTing with the full intent of getting every single question right. This will in turn determine how you PT, BR, drill, etc.
  • Edmond.DantesEdmond.Dantes Alum Member
    155 karma
    Thanks @quinnxzhang! You're probably right - I do need a change of mentality. Based on your experience, were you able to miss less simply by doing more PTs, BR, and review?