Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How Long Do Top Scorers Usually Study?

civnetncivnetn Free Trial Member
in General 148 karma
I'm wondering how long top scorers usually prepare for. I desperately want to get a score in the 170's and think it's absolutely possible.

I started studying the beginning of June with a diagnostic of 152 and I'm currently sitting around 160, with the majority of lost points coming from RC (getting roughly half wrong). I still feel like I need some time to polish up LG and LR before incorporating RC. I had planned to take in September but I'm about 95% sure I'm going to postpone until December.

I think the progress I've made is pretty good. I've only been studying roughly 2.5 months and I've boosted my score roughly (it fluctuates) 8 points.

How long do most top scorers usually prepare for?

Comments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27809 karma
    You're definitely right that it's possible. Of course, there is a necessary threshold of raw intellect, but I think it's actually way lower than most people realize.

As far as how long people study, I'm not sure there is going to be any meaningful correlation. Different 170+ scorers take different amounts of time: I've seen everything from about 3 to 24 months. There is something that all top scorers do have in common though: Disciplined, high level study strategies. To push into the 170's range, the margins are so slim that it's really the details that make the difference. High scorers don't cut any corners, such as grading PT's before BR;). 5 years of less than exceptional study habits won't be enough to get someone into the 170's.

To maximize your potential to break into the 170's, perfect your study strategies. When you do that, you will know when enough time has past.
  • SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    edited August 2016 11542 karma